Our sweet little lady has reaffirmed her monkey status as of today. Let me back up a little so that you may better understand. As a baby, we called Marlee, "Monkey". She grabbed things with her feet and held books with her hands and her feet. Loves Bananas, and was just our little monkey. A few months ago, we had to buy a gate to block our stairwell in the front hallway because she had learned to climb the stairs. The door is usually shut, but we do leave it open from time to time so she can run around so we needed to do it for safety reasons...obviously. Well, we had the gate up for so long that she forgot to how to climb the stairs when we would take it down. She would get on the first stair and then get really scared and shake and want us to get her. Over the last couple of days we have left the gate down in hopes she would get brave again...just so we could put it back up. Silly I know. She finally started to go up the stairs again, and FAST. The story doesn't end there. I was coming out of the kitchen tonight with a little dessert for us to share and she was just babbling her jargon. I came around the corner and saw this...


She then preceded to climb onto her table. She was just sitting up there playing with her cash register. I know it may not be as shocking to you, but for me it totally blew my mind. She is usually such a scared-y cat. She was just standing there like it was the usual. I was thinking...oh my goodness she could have fallen while I was in the kitchen and busted her head open, or chipped a tooth, or busted her lip again. Of course, me, looking at the worse case scenario. Anyway, I thought it was worth sharing.
Like I always say she is changing everyday. She puts her hands on her head when we sing, "Head, shoulders, knees, and toes". She loves bubbles, and her new word is "keys". She has a tamborine and a xylophone that she has now taken interest in. "Bang, Bang, Clang...Shake, Shake Shake". Those sounds are true bliss! She may just have music in her heart, after all it is in her blood. She is getting better at using her fork and is so proud of herself when she does. When we let her do something new by herself, she has this look like..."I'm awesome"! I can't have the fridge open for more than a second without her squeezing between my legs to go on her daily yogurt hunt. I put it somewhere different all the time to see if she can find it, and what do ya know? She finds it every time, and runs out of the kitchen with it before anyone can take her most prized possession. When she takes hold of something, or has in her mind she wants something...you better watch out because she will get it no matter what. If, however, she gets something she can't have she tends to get very upset and hit. It isn't a hard hit, more like a soft touch. The intention is there and then, this is what happens...

A time out! Zachary put her in a time out and she stayed there for a minute or two until zach came over when she stopped crying. She did really well for him. For me, that is a different story. I will sit her on her stool, and she will just get off. I am still working on it.
She also loves looking at herself in the mirror. In the bath, in the hallway, wherever she can. She gives herself kisses in the mirror and dances in the mirror. She does this little foot stomp and she looks like she is in the lords of the dance. It is soooo funny, I am cracking up just thinking about it. "If you're happy and you know it, stomp your feet"! Then, she stomps her little feet. Here is a picture of her checking herself out in the mirror. She is a ham!

She has her first dentist appointment tomorrow! I am so excited for her. She was supposed to have it around Christmas time, but she got sick so we had to reschedule. She is the teeth brushing meister! She does such a good job and even opens her mouth and says, "aahhh". I hope she will let the dentist look in her mouth. I have the feeling that she won't and she will be very upset. We will see! I am posting some misc. pictures at the bottom of the post. Time to go for now.
Au Revoir


